Trip to Croatia (part 4)

We had a really sunny day on the wednesday, so we decided to take a break from all the sightseeing and just find a beach to take it easy and sunbathe.  We found a lovely spot not too far from the Day and night bar and spent our afternoon soaking up the rays on our very own private bit of beach.

After, we decided to head to the day and night bar to grab a late lunch. After some nice food and a few hours of beer and wine drinking, we headed back to the apartment to take it easy and watch some English tv.

Thursday morning, we decided to use as a do what you want in the morning followed by a bit of exploring in the afternoon.  I chose to have a lie in.  In the afternoon we went to see the baredine cave which was about a 30 – 40 minute drive from Pula.   It was my first time inside a cave and besides the frog at the entrance scaring me and almost making me change my mind about going down, I really enjoyed it.  It was lovely to see all the things I had studied in Geography back in school up close.

After our trip to the caves, we decided to head home to get dressed up and head to a restaurant our friend had seen on one of her morning runs.  We think it was a yacht club restaurant.  It looked very fancy and we were expecting to pay through the nose for our meal, but we were pleasantly surprised when we saw the menu.  There weren’t a lot of options to choose from.  I thought this was great because it meant that what they did do, they would do well.  Which turned out to be very true.  Everything was delicious!

They were also kind enough to even make me an off the menu dessert.  All their options had dairy and when I explained to the waiter that I was lactose intolerant, he immediately went to the kitchen and came back with a dairy free alternative.  They made me a dessert ravioli in an apricot sauce.  It was delicious.  However, it was not fully dairy free as it was filled with cheese.  Seems that in Croatia, no milk does not translate to no cheese haha.  I still commend them for trying to accommodate me and it wasn’t too much cheese, so I was ok.  If I ever go back to Pula, I would most definitely visit that restaurant again.  The staff were wonderful, the food was very good and I had a lovely view to look at.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

