My tips for booking cheap flights

These are just some things I do when I am booking flights. They are my tricks to make sure I get the best deal possible. The less money I have to give to airlines to get me to my destination, the happier I am.

1) Always use a price comparison site. My site of choice is Skyscanner.

2) Book directly with the airline company.  It sounds obvious I know, but you’d be surprised how many people forget to do that.  Just because you’ve found a good deal on a price comparison site does not mean it’s the best.  Some comparison sites will charge a fee if you book through them.  It is always better to cut out the middle man and go to the source.

3) If you have connecting flights, try breaking up the journey into shorter ones.  It is usually cheaper to book each leg separately than to do it as one journey.

4) Where possible, go for a weekday flight.  Unless it is a popular business route, flights are usually cheaper on week days.  I find Tuesdays to Thursdays are usually the best days for cheap prices.  Early morning flights on those days are usually dirt cheap.  Probably because the average Joe does not want to be up that early.

5) Book in advance.  The closer you book to the time, the more expensive it usually is.  I usually book at least 3 months in advance.  Of course if you don’t care about the destination, there are last minute deals to be had.  However, if you’re set on the destination, then advance booking is the way forward.

Leave a Reply

