Books I’ve read recently – The mortal instruments series

I found out about this book after the release of the film “The mortal instruments : City of Bones”.  I’ll admit, I wasn’t overwhelmed by the film and it did not leave me with a burning desire to run out immediately and buy all the books in the series.  It was a bit blah.  Then again, I find that often times when a book is translated to film, a bit (sometimes a lot) of the book gets lost somewhere in translation.

I didn’t know it at the time, but the current film (in my opinion) does not do this book justice.  The main parts are there, but to me, a lot of what should have been kept the same, was not and it makes the film come off a bit bland and boring.  I found myself drifting into disinterest a lot of the time watching the film.  I am digressing.  I did not mean to turn this into a review of the film, sorry.

Back to the books!  I happened upon the first book in this series (currently there are 5 with book 6 due to be released soon) at the airport upon my return from a recent visit to the Isle of Man (a real country…I promise!).  It was one of those moments where nothing else stands out, so you pick the one you think will be least horrible to read.  Having seen the film, I wasn’t expecting much from the book.  It was just something to pass the time whilst waiting for my flight.

However, to my surprise, the book was actually very good.  I found myself not wanting to put it down and was upset when I finished it, because I didn’t want it to end.  This is how I ended up acquiring and reading the remaining 4 books available.  I didn’t intend to, but somehow I have managed to read all these books in less than a week….4 days to be precise!  You know you’re onto a good book when you feel like pausing to eat, shower or sleep is an inconvenience sent to distract you.  That is how I felt and I would do these things as quickly as possible to get back to my book.  The trouble with reading them so quickly of course is that you also finish them quickly.  I want to know more and I want to read more.  I will anxiously be waiting for book 6.

So as you can tell from me gushing about these books, yes, I would recommend them to others.  I won’t promise they’ll be exciting from beginning to end (I did skim read a few pages).  However, the overall story is intriguing and draws you in.  You find yourself worrying for the main characters, being happy when they’re happy and getting lost in their world.  Don’t take my word for it though….have a read of them yourself and see what you think.

Book information

Series title: The Mortal instruments

Author: Cassandra Clare

Number of books in series : 5 so far with another due for release on 27 May 2014

Books released so far: City of Bones (published March 27, 2007)

                                             City of Ashes (published March 25, 2008)

                                             City of Glass (published March 24, 2009)

                                            City of Fallen Angels (published April 5, 2011)

                                            City of Lost Souls (published May 8, 2012)

5 thoughts on “Books I’ve read recently – The mortal instruments series

    • The film nearly put me off the books. It’s such a shame they did such a poor job on the film. This had the potential to be a nice series film, but I can’t see many people wanting to watch them if it’s like the first one.

      I read that the author was on set for the film. I don’t understand how she let them defile her work so much. I know books to film aren’t going to be 100% the same, but in my opinion the bits that made the story interesting were omitted and it made it a crap film to watch.

    • If you like those, you might like her other series of books. They’re all about the shadowhunters as well. There is “The Bane chronicles” and “The infernal devices”. She’s also starting a new series in 2015 called “The dark artifices”

      I haven’t read her other series yet, but they’re on my to read list 🙂

Leave a Reply

