Dinner at Aka

I haven’t been out for a while.  I’m pretty sure the last time I went out was January.  I hate going out in winter because it’s cold and if I’m honest, I’m too lazy.  There is something about spring and summer that makes me more sociable though.  Where i’d usually turn down an invitation, in summer you’d be hard pushed to get me to refuse.

A friend and I had agreed to go shopping for a new car during the day on saturday.  She suggested that to celebrate my purchase, we should go out for dinner and then dancing after.  Now if you know me, you know I like to eat, so of course I wasn’t going to say no!  The plan was to go to a restaurant called IKKI.

So on Saturday evening, we primped and preened ourselves and headed to town.  We didn’t make it to IKKI due to the ING marathon that was taking place (and which we had forgotten about!).  We instead decided to find somewhere in the centre and just eat there.  My friend suggested Aka.  I had never been before, but my friend assured me it was really good, so I thought why not.  It is a Japanese restaurant.  So there is a lot of sushi on the menu.  I don’t like sushi, but I do love Japanese food in general and there was plenty of choice on the menu for me.

I have to say kudos to my friend, because the food was very good and I would definitely recommend this restaurant to friends.  It isn’t the cheapest place you could go, but I don’t think it’s extortionate if you’re splitting the bill.  My friend and I had a cocktail each, a bottle of wine, a main dish and shared a dessert.  All of that came to just over €112.

Sadly, I forgot to take photos of my friend’s dishes, but I did take photos of mine.

Filet de Turbot poêlé, asperges vertes et mousseline de patates douces (roughly translated, this is Fillet of Turbot fried, green asparagus and sweet potato mousseline)

I have no idea what dessert this was, but whatever it was, my god was it tasty!

Leave a Reply

