Lush Retread conditioner and Lush Rehab shampoo review

I bought these on my recent Lush haul.  I’ve never used them before.  They were recommended to me by the shop assistant.  I had told her that I wanted a shampoo and conditioner that would add moisture to my hair.  She said that the best ones were sold out and that these were pretty good and she’d recommend them as an alternative.  I’m willing to try most things once before deciding if I like it, so I thought why not?

About the product

Retread (aka Rafistoleur in French)

admin-ajax (1)

According to Lush, this product ” is a pit stop for your hair…….Retread is full of ingredients to fuel you hair up again and get it back out on the road.”  Its ingredients list includes soya milk, yoghurt and avocado oil.  It works well when teamed with the Rehab shampoo.

 

 

imageThe product smells lovely and fresh.  It also feels quite light.

 

 

 

 

 

Rehab (aka Retour dans le droit chemin in French)

admin-ajaxAccording to Lush, this product “is about bringing your hair and scalp back to basics and repairing it with an array of lovely ingredients.” Its ingredients include extra virgin olive oil, peppermint oil and rosemary oil.

It smells lovely and minty.

 

 

What I thought

Retread

I like this product but I’m not in love with it.  It doesn’t give my hair that super moisturising feeling that I am after.  I need something heavier.

I think for me, I need to go with the product I initially wanted to try (Coolaulin if you’re wondering).  My hair is fussy, so I need to stick to products that are specifically for my hair type.  I think if you have afro hair, it’d be better to just buy a conditioner targeted at your hair type as this in my opinion is just alright.

If you have European hair, then this would be perfect for you.  It’ll give your hair that moisture without it feeling heavy or getting greasy quickly.

My score: 6.5 out of 10.  I don’t think I’ll be repurchasing once this tub is finished.  It’s ok, but I’ve used conditioners that have given my hair better results.

Rehab

This shampoo is great for removing buildup and would work well as a clarifying shampoo.  However, that was not the purpose that I intended to use it.  I already have a clarifying shampoo.  I wanted a shampoo that would add moisture and not leave my hair feeling dry after shampooing.

So for my purposes I think this shampoo failed me.  On a positive note, it does leave my scalp feeling squeaky clean.  The only reason I’m not happy with it is because of how dry my hair feels after.  You definitely need to use a conditioner with this.

Another reason i’m not a fan is because it isn’t sulphate free.  I knew this before getting it but it still bugs me that Lush has not yet gotten on the sulphate free bandwagon with their shampoos.  I prefer using sulphate free shampoos for my regular washes because I find that my hair responds better to them and feels nicer after.

My score: 6.5 out of 10. I would buy this again.  However, I would not buy it as my everyday shampoo.  I think that for my hair, it’d work better as a once a month clarifying shampoo. Now that I’ve finally found sulphate free shampoo in a shop in Lux, I will be going back to using that once I finish the Lush stuff.  I know my hair will thank me for it.

Leave a Reply

