What i’m currently knitting

My friends and I are throwing a surprise party for a mommy to be.  Of course we’re getting her presents.  I thought I’d step away from the obvious and make something with my new-found knitting skills.

I’ve made a baby cocoon.  I sort of messed up the pattern (shhhh! don’t tell my friend).  You can’t tell unless you know what the right and wrong side should’ve looked like.  I think maybe when I transferred it to the circular needles, I turned the stitch the wrong way round and it meant that the stitches knitted on the round, the ones that should match up with the right side of the first half do not.

I could undo it and start again.  To be honest though, I don’t see the point, she won’t notice and it looks perfectly fine the way it is.  I just won’t mention that  it is not exactly how it should’ve been.

This is what my finished cocoon looks like…..

image

I was also hoping to make a poncho. However, I got a bit lazy and didn’t in the end.

I found a pattern that I thought was easy to follow, so I thought I’d post the pattern for anyone who might be interested in making a unique newborn baby gift.  You can make it for older children too.  If you want to see the other gauge sizes, the pattern is available here.

Newborn baby poncho

Tools and tips

– 250 grams super bulky yarn

– 8mm circular needles (US size 11)

Moss st

– Row 1: * K1, P1 *, repeat from *-*.

– Row 2: K over P and P over K. Repeat row 2.

GARTER ST (back and forth on needle)

– K all rows.

INCREASING TIP: Inc 1 st by making 1 (yarn over) YO. Work YO into back of loop on return row to avoid a hole.

The pattern

Worked from top down, beg with hood.

– Cast on 37sts on circular needle size 8 mm [US 11] . Work moss st – SEE ABOVE – back and forth on needle with 3 garter sts – SEE ABOVE – each side.
REMEMBER THE KNITTING GAUGE!

When piece measures 19 cm K 1 row from right side (RS), AT THE SAME TIME decrease 3sts evenly (do not decrease on the 3 garter sts each side) = 34sts.

– Insert 4 markers in piece as follows (as seen from RS): M-1 after 4 sts, M-2 after 13sts, M-3 after 21 sts and M-4 after 30sts. Now piece is measured from here.

– K 1 row from (wrong side) WS.

READ ALL OF THE FOLLOWING SECTION BEFORE CONTINUING!

– Continue in stockinette st back and forth on needle with 3 garter sts each side towards mid front, AT THE SAME TIME on first row from RS increase as follows – SEE INCREASING TIP: 1 st AFTER M-1, 1 st BEFORE M-2, 1 st AFTER M-3, 1 st BEFORE M-4 (= 4 inc).

– Repeat the increase on every other row another 15 times = 98 sts.  AT THE SAME TIME when piece measures 6cm continue in the round in stockinette st

– Purl the 6 sts mid front on first round, and then work them in stockinette st. After all increases are complete work 1 round stockinette st on all sts and continue in moss st for 4 cm. Work 1 round stockinette st and bind off loosely.

ASSEMBLY:
– Sew hood tog at the top, sew in outer loops of sts top avoid a chunky seam. 

TIE STRINGS: (I’d probably just braid the string instead of doing the crochet because I think that’ll be easier as i don’t have the patience to crochet.  however, if you want to, see below for how to do it.)
– Crochet a string of ch measuring approx 1 meter [1.1 yds] with 2 threads Eskimo.

– Thread string through row after the garter st on neckline. Tie a knot either end.

Leave a Reply

