Makeup forever HD primer review

I promised a while back that I’d review this product once I’d been using it for a while and could give an honest opinion on it.  I’ve had it for about 2 months now, so I think that’s long enough to form an opinion on it.

I’ll start by giving some basic info about it:

Price: €29.90

Shade: caramel #4

Size: 30ml

What it claims to do: revives tanned and dark complexions

Now for the good stuff….my review of how I found it.

Price:  Ok, so you could get a primer that’s a bit cheaper than this (Sephora has an own brand primer for about 11 euros) but I think for the amount you get, it is good value for money.  You don’t need a huge amount, so this will last for ages.  For price I would give it an 7 out of 10.

Shade:  This shade is recommended for brown skin but honestly, I found this a bit dark for me.  It wasn’t very noticeable but I could tell it wasn’t right.  It didn’t cause me huge issues as it just meant I used less and tried to blend it in as best as I could, but I think I’d have been better getting the clear one.  At least then I wouldn’t need to be extra careful when using it.  If like me, you’re a lighter shade of brown, I would not recommend this shade for you.

I’d give that a 5 out of 10 for shade match.  It was ok but they should maybe have something a bit lighter than this for those who are a lighter shade of brown, or maybe be a bit more clear about what they mean by “dark skin”.  If they mean chocolate then yes this would work for you but if you’re more of a caramel, then get the clear.  I also wouldn’t recommend this for someone who is tanned because it would definitely show up….unless you’re one of those who goes for the super tanned look in which case it might work.

What it claims to do:  As a primer I think it works quite well.    It did make my foundation look better on and I didn’t need to use as much foundation.  My foundation also stayed on longer and I didn’t get the shiny look even after a few hours of wear.  Did it make my skin look glowy?  As far as I could see, no.  I thought it felt very light on my skin.  I didn’t feel like I was wearing a lot of product.  Which is great because I’m not a fan of the caked on makeup look or feel on my face.

I’m not too fond of the smell but it’s barely noticeable so I wouldn’t hold that against it.  For what it claims to do I probably would give it a 7 out of 10.

Overall score: 6 out of 10. The shade brought the score down.  Still loved the product as a whole and would buy again though. I know to some 6 out of 10 isn’t that great but I’m a harsh marker, so don’t let that put you off.  Like I said, I’d recommend it but just caveat with be careful of the shade you choose.

Disclaimer:  I bought this product myself.  I have not been asked to review it.  The views expressed in this review are entirely my own.

Leave a Reply

