Oktoberfest

My friends and I went to the Oktoberfest tent on Friday evening and it was probably the most fun I’ve had in ages.  Food and beer make for an awesome combination!

I’m sure most of you have heard about Oktoberfest (possibly the Munich one) but in case you haven’t, I shall give a brief summary.  It is a 16 day festival celebrating beer.  It runs from late September to the first weekend in October.  Contrary to what some may think, it is not confined to just the Munich festival, a lot of other German towns also celebrate it.  Luxembourg is very close to the German border and they hold their own festival.

At these festivals, you will see the ladies and gents dressed in traditional German attire.  The ladies usually wear a dirndl and the guys wear a lederhosen.  You may also see the ladies wearing lederhosens too.  The atmosphere is very lively.  There is usually a lot of singing (in German of course!) and lots of food too.

The festival in Luxembourg is small in comparison but it gets a good crowd.  My friends and I booked seats.  We paid 32 euros and for that we got entrance and 20 euros worth of tokens to spend on food and drinks.  Not bad for a night out if you ask me!

Beer is usually served in traditional glasses called a beer stein and food is usually bratwurst and sauerkraut, pork knuckle and other German delights.  I love German food so for me it’s all about the food.  I’m not a big beer drinker but I usually manage to finish at least 1 beer stein before deciding to give up and concentrate on the food.

I didn’t take many photos (too busy having fun). I did remember to do one before I forgot though, so here is me in the traditional German outfit drinking a very large beer and enjoying the atmosphere.  If you’re near enough to attend the Oktoberfest, I would highly recommend it.  If you’re not a big beer drinker, you can still go and enjoy the food and the atmosphere.

 

Leave a Reply

