Schueberfouer

It’s that time of the year again when the Schueberfouer (scheub as my friends and I call it) fair descends on us.  For those who have never heard of it, scheub is an annual fair that is held in Luxembourg.  It runs for about 3 weeks.  It’s an excuse to drink beer, go on rides and eat lots of fair food.  All things I love…..except the going on rides part.  I’m not a fan of rides!

This weekend was the first weekend that scheub was open, so my friends and I decided that this called for an all day session at the fair leading into a night out at our favourite pub.  We met up and decided that before we did anything, the first order of business should be beer and food.

The drink of choice was Bofferding. I’ll admit it’s not my favourite beer.  I prefer Battin or Hoegaarden, but as that was not an option we made do.  I can’t tell you how many we drank.  We must have sat for 5 hours just drinking beer and chatting so I’ll just say it was plenty.

The food of choice was Gromperekichelcher.  For those wondering what the hell that is?  It’s potato pancakes or rostis if you’re more familiar with it being called that.  Or as I like to call them, heaven in my mouth!  Seriously, if you’re ever in Luxembourg you have to try them!

I know what I’ll be spending my weekends for the next three weeks doing :).  I love scheub!

Leave a Reply

