Spinach lasagne

I was struggling to come up with something to have for dinner today.  I was literally sat there for about half an hour trying to think of what I could make with the things I had in my fridge and cupboards.  I really fancied lasagne but thought “bummer!  I don’t have any sauce to do that and I don’t have the right ingredients”.

I had most but I was missing soya milk to make a cheese sauce.  I had coconut milk though.  Lightbulb moment finally came to me!  I thought why not make the cheese sauce and substitute the soya milk with coconut milk?  It actually turned out pretty well if I do say so myself.  So good in fact that I thought i’d share my recipe.  Apologies, for most things I won’t put exact measurements because I don’t really measure.  I just sort of know when it is enough.

Ingredients

  • 3 tbsp butter
  • 2 tbsp cornflour
  • 300 ml coconut milk
  • salt
  • black pepper
  • spinach
  • lasagne sheets
  • garlic butter
  • grated cheese

Recipe for cheese sauce

  • Melt the butter in a pan
  • Once the butter is melted, slowly stir in the cornflour.
  • Remove the pan from the heat and slowly stir the coconut milk.  Stir until the mixture is not lumpy.
  • Once all the coconut milk has bee added, return to the fire and slowly simmer for 8-12 mins.
  • Stir in the cheese.  I usually use about 100g of cheese or however much it takes to get it to the thickness I want.
  • Season with salt and pepper to taste
  • Remove from heat and leave to cool.

Recipe for lasagne

  • If you have used fresh spinach, wilt and stir in the garlic butter.  I usually put it in a bowl, put cling film on top and stick it in the microwave for 3 mins.  If you are using frozen chopped spinach, just defrost and stir in your garlic butter.
  • Get your oven proof dish and cover the bottom with pasta sheet.
  • Spoon on the first layer of spinach
  • add another layer of pasta sheets and keep alternating between these 2 steps until you have done about 5 layers (3 layers sheets and 2 layers spinach).  Make sure that the final layer is sheet.
  • pour over the cheese sauce to cover the top
  • put in oven at 200-220 degrees celsius and bake for between 30-40 mins or until it is cooked.

 

Once cooked all you have to do is enjoy 🙂

2 thoughts on “Spinach lasagne

Leave a Reply

