100 must read classic books

For those who haven’t already figured, I love to read.  I have no shame in admitting that I am a bookworm.  However, in the past few years I haven’t read as much as I liked.  I decided to rectify this and bought an e-reader.  I’d like to re-read some classics and discover some new books along the way too.

It is during that search that I came across this list.  I’ve already read some on the list but I shall make it my mission to source and read the ones on the list that I have not yet read.  Classic books never get old or boring to read to me.  I like a book that is written well and well frankly in my opinion, a lot of the new books aren’t written well.  They don’t keep my attention.  They insult the reader’s intelligence.

So anyway, here’s the list (with my already read crossed out).   If you know of any other classics not mentioned, feel free to comment and add them.  If I can find it i’ll read it.

Must Read Book List
Lady Chatterley’s Lover Rebecca
Animal Farm Iliad and the Odyssey
The Catcher in the Rye Catch 22
Oedipus the King A Farewell To Arms
Gulliver’s Travels Utopia
David Copperfield No Exit
One Hundred years of Solitude Crime and Punishment
Saint Joan Poetics
The Way of the World War and Peace
Frankenstein Don Quixote
Little Women Wuthering Heights
Vanity Fair Emma
Lolita The Scarlett Letter
The Canterbury Tales A Doll’s House
Beloved Color Purple
The Birds Moby-Dick
Oliver Twist Robinson Crusoe
Adventures of Huckleberry Finn The Trial
The Republic A Midsummer Night’s Dream
Far from the Madding Crowd The Lord of the Rings
The Great Gatsby The Prince
The Grapes of Wrath Lord of the Flies
East of Eden A Portrait of the Artist
Mill on the Floss Silas Marner
Women in Love 1984
Leave a Reply

