How to do a home facial

My skin is looking a bit dull at the moment so I decided that a facial was in order.  I am trying to do one at least once per month to help my skin along as I seem to have a constant case of acne (I have other tricks up my sleeve which I’ll write about later).  So anyway back to the facial, I thought I’d share what I did to mine.  It leaves my skin feeling squeaky clean after. 

The only thing I’d say is don’t do this the night before a big occasion because your skin may break out a little immediately after.  Give it at least 3 days so it can settle.
Cleanse
Put a creamy cleanser on your face and neck (because it needs pampering too!) and leave it for about 2 minutes.  I use a cleanser from the Simple range for this.  Apply it like a face mask.  After 2 minutes, wipe this off with a facecloth. 

Wash
Wash the excess cleanser off your face.  You can just use water or a face wash.  I use a soap free and fragrance free face wash for this (I also use this as my daily face wash).

Steam
Fill the sink with hot water and steam your face.  Cover your head (and the sink) with a towel so that all the steam will be concentrated on your face.  I usually steam for about 5 minutes.

Splash
Once you finish steaming, splash some cold water on your face to close your pores.

Mask
Apply a face mask of your choice and leave for the recommended time.  Once the time has passed, rinse the mask off your face. I just use the cheap store brand face masks.  You can usually pick up little sachets at Boots etc. for about 99p.

Tone
Apply toner of choice on your face.  I use a Simple toner because the majority of the products I use on my face are from this brand.  You don’t have to use this.  Any toner will do.

Moisturise
Moisturise with your favourite face cream.  I use the hydrating moisturiser by Simple but you can use whatever brand you like.  I just prefer this because it’s fragrance free and my skin seems to like it.
And voila!  You’ve just given yourself a facial.  Now you can go admire your handiwork.  Bet you didn’t think it was that easy did you?!
Leave a Reply

