Simple ruffle scarf

I thought I’d share my current project with you.




 Ta da!!  It looks like it should be complicated to knit but honestly it’s so easy to do.











So if you want to make this scarf this is what you’ll need:-

-2 x100g balls of ruffle yarn (I bought one yarn but it wasn’t enough so I’d suggest getting two to be safe)
-size 5.5 mm knitting needles or you could just go with the size your yarn recommends.  For this scarf I used size 5.5.

Casting on for this scarf is actually pretty easy to do.  You literally just thread the needle through the loops till you get the number of stitches that you want.  For my scarf I made 6 cast on stitches.  Once you’ve cast on, just knit as you would normally.  Just remember that it is the edge of the yarn you’ll be knitting and not all of the yarn.  You should just knit through the loops.  Then just continue knitting until you get to the end of the yarn or your desired length.

To cast off, you just do a normal cast off but again, you are just knitting the edge of the yarn and not the entire yarn.

Once you see the yarn, it should be pretty obvious which end is the knitting end.  I’m not going to lie, this yarn is fiddly to work with but you soon get used to it.

I know it might be confusing trying to figure out how to cast on and off, so you can have a look at my useful links to see the Youtube video I used to help me.  You can also get this yarn on ebay.  Just search for “ruffle yarn”.

Leave a Reply

